What are the potential consequences for a first time DUI?

| Jun 3, 2020 | Firm News |

Many people in Mississippi have a drink from time to time. It can be a good way to relax or to loosen up when people are in social situations. Drinking by itself is not a problem. However, when people consume too much alcohol sometimes they make poor choices that have consequences well after the buzz wears off. It could be problems that arise in personal relationships and sometimes the poor choices can lead to criminal charges.

One of the poor decisions that can lead to criminal charges is getting behind the wheel after drinking too much. When people have a BAC of .08 or above, they risk being charged with a DUI. Even first time offenses can have significant consequences. People could be sentenced up to be 48-hours in jail, but people could attend a victim impact panel instead of the 48 hours in jail. People also will be fined between $250 – $1,000 and be required to attend an alcohol safety program.

In addition to these criminal penalties they also could have their license suspended for 90 days. However, they could install ignition interlock and potentially obtain a hardship exception after 30 days and be able to drive.

These are serious consequences that can have a big affect on one’s life, but these are consequences that people will only have to deal with if they are convicted. There also could be defenses available to people and they could potentially avoid the license suspension or at least receive a hardship exception.

There are many people who are charged with DUIs each year in Mississippi. While the consequences can be severe that can have a significant impact on their lives. However, everyone is innocent until proven guilty and there could be defenses available starting with whether the police had a valid reason to pull someone over. Experienced attorneys understand the potential defenses and may be able to guide one through the process.