The months of May through September are usually the busiest time of year for the Gulf Coast. Along with the hustle and bustle comes alcohol and social gatherings, which can unfortunately lead to drunk driving. So, what should you do when you receive a first DUI offense in the state of Mississippi?
First, know that you may be required to spend up to 48 hours in jail upon your arrest. However, the court may opt to allow you to simply pay your imposed fines in lieu of jail time. In addition, they may also substitute attendance at a victim impact panel in lieu of jail time. It all depends on the circumstances surrounding your arrest. Every DUI is a different, unique matter. First time offenders in Mississippi will also be ordered by the court to attend an alcohol safety education program. You will be required to pay for this program on your own.
When you are pulled over on the suspicion of drunk driving, and you refuse a breathalyzer test, your drivers license will be suspended for 90 days. In order to get them reinstated, you will be required to complete educational program, install an ignition interlock system on your vehicle for up to 6 months, and obtain an SR-22 insurance policy, which can be quite costly.
In summary, any DUI, even if it’s your first offense, is going to cost you significant money. Consulting with an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible after an arrest will help you understand your options, and navigate them as quickly and easily as possible.