When Mississippi residents are parting ways and share a child, one of the biggest concerns they will eventually have to deal with is how much the supporting parent will have to pay the custodial parent to care for the child. The state has a child support formula based on the law. This details how much the supporting parent will pay.
There are percentages that will be allocated based on the supporting parent's adjusted gross income and the number of children involved. If there is one child, it is 14 percent. If there are two children, it will be 20 percent. With three children, it will be 22 percent. With four children, it will be 24 percent. And, if there are five or more children, it will be 26 percent.
There will be support paid until the child is considered emancipated. For Mississippi, the age at which that occurs is 21. It will be automatic as soon as the child turns 21, unless the support agreement says otherwise. The child will be emancipated prior to the age of 21, if he or she joins the military full time, gets married or is convicted of a felony and receives a sentence to be incarcerated for a minimum of two years.
There can be emancipation by court order to eliminate or reduce the benefits when the child who is supported turns 18 and discontinues being enrolled in school on a full time basis except if the child is disabled. If the child moves from the home of the custodial parent or guardian voluntarily and has independent living circumstances after getting a full time job and stops going to school before 21, or he or she lives with another person without it being approved by the parent who is ordered to pay support, then there can be emancipation ordered.
As with any issue with a couple who was married and parted ways or shares a child, there are numerous different factors that go into determining how the case is handled. With that in mind, it is important for those involved in a dispute to make sure they have a firm grasp on the child support laws in the state with help from an experienced legal professional.
Source: MDHS.State.Ms.us, "Determine Child Support Obligations," accessed on July 12, 2016